News & Events

Student Voices

Derek Ulmer

Derek Ulmer
Year/Track: 2017
Hometown: Lodi, Calif.
Major: English

read more >

California Initiative Forum

Learn About Proposed Laws

Students will present their nonpartisan, objective analysis of each of the 17 ballot measures at the 2016 California Initiative Review Forum on Tuesday, Oct. 25 at 5 p.m.

Home > News > Holland, Morgan Win National Title
Professor Mike Mireles, Allysia Holland, Preston Morgan, Professor Ed Telfeyan

Professor Mike Mireles, Allysia Holland, '09, and Preston Morgan, '09, Professor Ed Telfeyan.

Holland, Morgan Win National Title

March 23, 2009

Tags: Student Life, 2009, Competition Teams

Allysia Holland, ’09, and Preston Morgan, ’09, won the national title on March 21 in the championship round of the prestigious 18th Annual Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition in Washington, D.C.

The McGeorge team was one of four regional winners competing in the event, which was held at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Holland and Morgan also won the "Best Oralist Team" award and $5,000 in cash prizes for their team and their school.  The four regional participants included the winners of the South Region ( University of Tennessee,  College of Law); Midwest Region (University of Akron School of Law); and the East Region ( Widener University Law School, Delaware).  The judges included nine attorneys from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, including four Trademark Trial and Appeal Court judges and five Trademark Trial and Appeal Court interlocutory attorneys.  More than sixty teams of law students participated in the national competition. 

“ Preston and Allysia devoted countless hours preparing for the regional and the finals, and their hard work paid off,” said Professor Mike Mireles, ’98, who with Professor Ed Telfeyan, ’75, coached and accompanied the team to the national competition. “I am very impressed with their ability to analyze an incredibly complicated problem laced with difficult legal and factual issues and answer tough questions under quite a bit of pressure.  We can be very proud of their representation of the law school, and the legal education, particularly our advocacy program and Professor Telfeyan's advocacy class, provided to the members of our student community."    

The Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition was established in 1990 by the Brand Names Education Foundation in honor of Saul Lefkowitz, a distinguished former Chairman of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.  It is the only American competition with a focus on trademark and unfair competition law.  The International Trademark Association sponsors the event, which also draws on major intellectual property law firms for support.  Holland and Morgan scored a victory in the West Regional held last month in San Francisco at the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. Last year's competition was won by UC Hastings School of Law.