News & Events

Home > News > Moot Court Teams Advance to NY National Finals and Win Second Place in Chicago Bar
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions

Etan Zaitsu, Edward Telfeyan, Sophia Allard, Michael Laino, Paige Davidson, and Professor Daniel Croxall.

Moot Court Teams Advance to NY National Finals, Win Second Place in Chicago Bar

November 22, 2017

Tags: Centers of Distinction, Advocacy Center, Student Life, Competition Teams, 2017

Two McGeorge School of Law Moot Court teams gave strong competition performances this past weekend.

McGeorge's New York Bar Association National Moot Court Competition team, consisting of Paige Davidson, Michael Laino, and Sophia Allard, swept the competition at the regional tournament held at U.C. Hastings on November 17 and 18.  The team went undefeated, and won an award for the second best brief.  In addition, Paige Davidson won the best oralist award for the overall competition and won the best oralist in the final round that was judged by California appellate court justices. 

Chicago Team

The team of Melody Aguilar and Ashley Vasquez took second place in the Chicago Bar Association Moot Court competition, held in Chicago on Nov. 16-19, 2017.

Professor Daniel Croxall was the head coach of the first-place New York National team, with support from assistant coaches Etan Zaitsu '11 and professor Ed Telfeyan, director of the moot court program.  Student coach Callie Buck and student research assistant Henry Mantel assisted the team. Professor Adrienne Brungess and Timothy Kamermayer '12 coached the Chicago team. Aguilar and Vasquez argued seven times and beat 28 teams to advance to second place. A second team consisting of Morgan Hendley and Timothy Keaton competed, and student coach Hunter McMillan assisted the teams.

Davidson, Allard, and Laino will compete in the New York National Moot Court Final Rounds to be held at the New York City Bar from Jan. 29 through Feb. 1, 2018.  McGeorge has sent a team to the final competition for five of the past seven years. 

Earlier this month the McGeorge team of Doug Leach and Leah Parrish placed second in the ABA Regional Negotiation Competition, held Nov. 4-5 at UC Davis. They will go on to compete in the ABA Negotiation Competition Finals in February 2018.